Greek Period
(331 BC - 37 AD)

31st (Greek, Ptolemaic or Lagida) dynasty

Alexander The Great
(332 - 323 BC)

The Egyptians welcomed him not as a conqueror but as a liberator. Alexandria, the capital he founded became the cultural center of the Hellenic world. On his visit to the Siwa oasis, he was declared to be the son of Amun by the clerics which gave him divine legitimization to the throne of Egypt.

Philip Arrchidaeus
Ptolemy I Soter
Ptolemy II Philadelphus
Ptolemy III Euergetes I
Ptolemy IV Philopator
Ptolemy V Epiphanes
Ptolemy VI Philometor
Ptolemy VII Neos Philopator
Ptolemy VIII Euergetes II
Cleopatra III & Ptolemy IX Soter II
Cleopatra III & Ptolemy X Alexandros I
Cleopatra Berenice III
Ptolemy XI Alexandros II
Ptolemy XII Neos Dionysos He was famous of his dissipated life. Even his royal name (ie. son of Dionysos) shows his tendencies of drinking.
Berenice IV
Cleopatra VII Philopator & Ptolemy   XIII
Cleopatra VII Philopator & Ptolemy XIV
Cleopatra VII Philopator
& Ptolemy XV Cesarion
(44 - 30 BC)
The love between Cleopatra and Cesar and after between her and Antonius has become the topic of many romances. Though she was famous of her beauty, presumably it was not her appearance that made her irresistible. It was her intelligence and a sense of humour that could engage the excellent statesmen and Rome herself to the queen. She was considered an outstanding politician who was not reluctant to involve her femininity into the fight if it was about her country and power. Her education was unsurpassed. After her tragedy, Egypt became the province of the Roman Empire.

Back to Links of Dynasties

Back to links page Previous page No next page Back to top